Posted by: musiclovesfashion | November 19, 2008

Idea stealers

7 November, 2008, Lady Gaga interview:

“You know, I think that pop is considered to be very lowbrow. And I really love Andy Warhol and what he did to make pop culture figures iconic, and how he took commercial art and made it fine. He made fine art out of, I don’t know, commercial … the concept of commercial work. And that’s what I’m trying to do. It’s pop music, but it’s art. It’s pop art music.”

13 November, 2008, Christina Aguilera interview:

“”I was very inspired by the look and feel of that [pop-art] genre, your Jane Birkins, your Blondies, females who have come before who have done this so many times and so well — almost as an homage to them,” she explained. “Also, speaking of Warhol, Nico from the Velvet Underground … so it all kind of ties in to a pop-art feel and twist, with a mod look. But a futuristic taste of what’s to come.”

Perez Hilton first reported this, as part of a bigger piece on how Aguilera has been ripping Lady Gaga off.

But then in last Friday’s Ticket in the Irish TImes, there was a hilarious interview with Kanye West, published 14th November, where he says this:

“As little kids, we all listened to pop music – when and why did it become a bad thing? With this album, I’ve invented a new genre called ‘Pop Art’, which is not to be confused with the visual art movement. I think I’m producing pop, but in an artistic way

So who really invented this whole music ‘pop art’ thing?


Leave a comment

Categories