Posted by: musiclovesfashion | October 17, 2008

They both have an X in their name…

But that’s pretty much where the similarities end.

You see, I really, really want to go to Messiah J and The Expert‘s gig on Saturday.

Their latest album, From the Word Go, is a bloody brilliant mix of thrilling, catchy and insightful genre-mashing songs and definitely one of my favourite albums of the year so far. ‘Jean is Planning an Escape’, ‘Looking for a Long Term Thing’, and ‘Tomorrow is Too Late’ have been shamelessly on repeat on my iPhone all week. (For a great interview with the band, click here.)

HOWEVER, The X-Factor is also on on Saturday night. I’m also shamelessly hooked on that, and really want to watch it. And I know what you’re going to say – it repeats on a Sunday (or maybe you were going to say ‘You’re a big saddo, get thee to the gig, there really is no contest, MJEX win every time’?), but I have plans on Sunday.

Now, up until this point I was penniless and broke, so the gig was out of the question. But I got paid today.

And here comes the indecision…

I reckon this is the perfect opportunity to try out the handy new WordPress poll feature to ask you, oh wise friends, what you think I should do.

Thank you in advance for your advice!

Responses

  1. I’m biased but I have a funny feeling Saturdays gig is gonna be amazing. Plus we are defo gonna play ‘Jean is Planning an Escape’ and ‘Tomorrow is Too Late’ and to make it even better TV3 repeat X-Factor during the week.

    P.S. Cheryl Cole is pretty fresh though!

  2. Admittedly Cheryl is quite fresh. But aren’t MJEX in Tower tonight?

    Everyone’s a winner 😀

  3. Hey Nathalie,

    Thanks for the link – it’s been one big auld MJEX week on Ragged Words and the Expert did a track by track guide to the record for us today too – http://www.raggedwords.com/?q=node/758.

    Hope both you and Eoghan are keeping well.

    Padraic

  4. @the expert: Yup, it was amazing! Well done, hope the albums flew out.
    @david: She is indeed a seriously gorgeous girl. Thanks for flagging the Tower gig – I was working on Fri so I missed it. Glad I went on Sat though! (and, thanks to an attack of the cold, all Sunday plans were scuppered and so I watched X Factor after all so everyone was a winner after all!
    @Hello Padraic! Everything is grand here, hope you’re well. Loved the Cross The Pond podcasts by the way, you guys introduced me to lots of great music. Thanks for the link, I’ll enjoy reading that.


Leave a Reply

Categories

