Posted by: musiclovesfashion | October 3, 2008

Grrr.

“Arggghhh,” I cried last night. “She’s just so frustrating!”

It was then, at 3am, that Eoghan decided (wisely) to turn the TV off and send me to bed.
I was hopping mad and incredulous throughout the VP debate. Maybe some of Sabrina’s cool bingo cards would have put some fun into watching it.

“Joe Six Pack? The economy is “hurtin'”? WINKING at the camera?!  Palin is driving me mad” I twittered angrily.

It wasn’t just the way her frozen smile rarely left her face, even when talking about serious issues.
It wasn’t just that she blamed “predator lenders”  for deceiving people into taking out massive loans. Why not just admit that some people made bad financial choices by themselves?
It wasn’t just that clunky, memorized sound bites fell over themselves desperately, reminding me of my Leaving Cert French oral.
It wasn’t just the fact that she said she was “tolerant” of gays.
It wasn’t just that her spiel on energy and drilling and climate change really, REALLY reminded me of Tina Fey’s brilliant “It’s just God hugging us closer” quote.
It wasn’t just that she said “we’re finished in Iraq when the Iraqi government can govern its people” – YOU DON”T OWN THE COUNTRY!
It wasn’t just that if I had a Vodka shot for every time she said “main street” and “maverick” I would have ended up in A&E (although, in fairness, I think at one point Biden said it like 7 or 8 times).

I think it was the fact that she seemed to be able to say something about everything, and yet still give the impression that she knew nothing. Actually, I take that back. In some occasions, it was clear that she didn’t know how to answer a question – so she just didn’t.

Anyone remember that episode of Sabrina The Teenage Witch where Sabrina creates a clone of herself who just smiles vacantly and can only say “Mr Pool can be so annoying”, “That is so true” and “I’d love to” ?

Yeah, that about sums it up for me.

Some good live blogging:
Maman Poulet, Alexia and Co here
Jezebel
Justin Webb

Responses

  1. “Iraq can be so annoying.”


Leave a Reply

Categories

