Posted by: musiclovesfashion | June 11, 2008

I heart JK Rowling

I haven’t read any of the Harry Potter books (yet), but I have such huge admiration for JK Rowling. Every time she speaks, I am blown away by her use of language and her empathy. Her generosity and her eagerness to use her success to help others, without actually trying to promote herself is also hugely praiseworthy.

Then this, discovered thanks to Eoin Purcell, made me love her even more. It’s her Commencement Address in Harvard a few days ago. She was the university’s fifth female Commencement speaker since 1950. You can read and watch all of it here. I’ve pasted a few choice cuts below:

“I am not dull enough to suppose that because you are young, gifted and well-educated, you have never known hardship or heartbreak. Talent and intelligence never yet inoculated anyone against the caprice of the Fates, and I do not for a moment suppose that everyone here has enjoyed an existence of unruffled privilege and contentment.

However, the fact that you are graduating from Harvard suggests that you are not very well-acquainted with failure. You might be driven by a fear of failure quite as much as a desire for success. Indeed, your conception of failure might not be too far from the average person’s idea of success, so high have you already flown academically.

Ultimately, we all have to decide for ourselves what constitutes failure, but the world is quite eager to give you a set of criteria if you let it. So I think it fair to say that by any conventional measure, a mere seven years after my graduation day, I had failed on an epic scale. An exceptionally short-lived marriage had imploded, and I was jobless, a lone parent, and as poor as it is possible to be in modern Britain, without being homeless. The fears my parents had had for me, and that I had had for myself, had both come to pass, and by every usual standard, I was the biggest failure I knew.”

And

“But how much more are you, Harvard graduates of 2008, likely to touch other people’s lives? Your intelligence, your capacity for hard work, the education you have earned and received, give you unique status, and unique responsibilities. Even your nationality sets you apart. The great majority of you belong to the world’s only remaining superpower. The way you vote, the way you live, the way you protest, the pressure you bring to bear on your government, has an impact way beyond your borders. That is your privilege, and your burden.

If you choose to use your status and influence to raise your voice on behalf of those who have no voice; if you choose to identify not only with the powerful, but with the powerless; if you retain the ability to imagine yourself into the lives of those who do not have your advantages, then it will not only be your proud families who celebrate your existence, but thousands and millions of people whose reality you have helped transform for the better.”

Awesome stuff.

Responses

  1. I heart JK Rowling too – what a wonderful speech. Thank you for sharing.
    It reminded me of another speech to influential Americans with a similar message – http://www.abc.net.au/rn/scienceshow/stories/2008/2166900.htm


Leave a Reply

Categories

