Posted by: musiclovesfashion | June 3, 2008

Holy Child

Olivia

Olivia

This is my little cousin Olivia, photographed on her First Holy Communion a few weeks back. The pro photographed hired for the day didn’t show, so I was really delighted to be able to take these. The circus was in Ballyfermot at the time, and a gorgeous setting sun and empty field proved a very nice backdrop.
Even though it was just for family, it was my first experience of what it would be like to do a proper session, so I learned a lot.

Olivia

Olivia, or Libby as I call her, loves the circus Shetland ponies so we took lots of shots by them. She insisted on getting her photo taken with each of them – she knows all their names – because she didn’t think it fair to pick a favourite!

Olivia

Olivia

Olivia

Olivia

And here are a few shots with her dad, my uncle, and her mum, Sandra:

Olivia

Olivia

Olivia

Olivia

Libby was a great little model – patient and willing, even though through the whole session her friends were running around playing chasing and soccer.

Olivia

Lots of fun and a great learning experience. I’ve since seen the pics printed out as 7×5 and I was really happy with the results, as was her mum, thank God!

Responses

  1. Holy wowsa Nathalie!! Good job the ‘pro’ didn’t turn up, I can guarantee that he wouldn’t have got anything near as good as this! 🙂

  2. I agree with Daragh! It was my daughter’s communion a few weeks ago too, don’t they look so adorable in white dresses? I really, really like how you’ve used the light and location, lovely colours to offset the purity of the dress and veil, I think the speckled pony looks fabulous!
    My girl absolutely hates her photo being taken so sadly couldn’t get these kind of pics…maybe I should hire you next time 🙂

  3. @ Darragh. Thanks a million!! I totally lucked out with the light!
    @Nay Thank you muchly! The ponies worked out great, very obliging models given a bit of grass! She looks so pure and innocent and loved playing up to it all day – usually she’s anything but, she’s a right handful!

  4. oh these are really stunning!


Leave a Reply

Categories

