Posted by: musiclovesfashion | March 7, 2008

Chatty Catz

Portrait photography is great. There is such an awesome pleasure in feeling you’ve come close to capturing a little bit of what some one is about.

It’s also sooo tough – people, myself included, are usually not that comfortable in front of a camera. Over the past few months I’ve tried to get some of my closer friends used to the fact that my SLR will be welded to my handed in the hopes that they might talk, laugh and express themselves normally and that I might get a nice shot; this does mean that I’ve got quite a high delete rate what with half-closed eyelids and weird facial expressions, but it can also turn out great.

This is one of my best friends Caitriona.

Caitriona 1
Canon 400D, 50mm, f1.4, 1/60, ISO1600

We’ve been friends since school – we used to design our debs dresses on our Irish copy books. We were out at dinner in Bar Pinxto in Temple Bar, so these photos were taken in candlelight, on quite a high ISO (even with my fab lets-lots-of-light-in 1.4 lens). I’m still quite happy with them though, as she’s a genuinely smiley person and she really does look like that when she’s talking. The tags I gave the pics when I uploaded them to Flickr – “curly hair”, “smile” and “glitter eyeliner” – are things I have associated with Caitriona for as long as I’ve known her.

 

Caitriona B&W
Canon 400D, 50mm, f1.4, 1/60, ISO1600

I would love to be as brave as Gingerpixel, who has been creating stunning portraits of strangers, but I think that’s a bit a away as I really need to improve my technique. I’ll just stick to annoying friends and family for now…

Leave a Reply

Categories

