Posted by: musiclovesfashion | February 29, 2008

Superdy duperdy Choice

Here are a few shots from Wednesday night’s Choice Music Prize, where Super Extra Bonus Party bagged the gong and the ten grand prize.

The night was good craic, with the ten incredibly diverse acts performing two songs each. Seeing as you’re getting a buffet of the best Irish music out there, the €27 ticket price is a total steal.

It was also my first attempt at gig photography. Thankfully, we got lucky with our seats: ground floor tables three rows from the front (and a little to the right as you can see from my shots!).

Roisin Murphy, who was captivating to watch:

Roisin Murphy
Canon 400D, 50mm, f1.4, 1/200, ISO800

Kila, as fast and ferocious as ever:

Kila
Canon 400D, 50mm, f5, 1/125, ISO1600

Delorentos, who lived up to their reputation as a fierce live act:

Delorentos
Canon 400D, 50mm, f1.4, 1/250, ISO800

Super Extra Bonus Party, who were equal measures of mad and brilliant:

Super Extra Bonus Party
Canon 400D, 50mm, f5, 1/250, ISO800

Dry County, who I had my money on:

Dry County
Canon 400D, 50mm, f1.4, 1/200, ISO1600

The hilarious and endearing Cork frontman of Stanley Super 800:

Stanley Super 800
Canon 400D, 50mm, f1.4, 1/250, ISO800
There are a few more Flickr. I think next time I might just chance my arm and go up to the stage, as that’s really where my 50mm would have been happiest.
UnaRocks, Sinéad Gleeson, and Nialler9 all have more banter on the night. Hotpress photographer Naomi McCardle has some awesome pics.
Responses

  1. Cool pics dude.

    Thanks for the link!

    Una

  2. […] Casa Casey Courtney has some nice photos of the night. […]

  3. Hey thanks a mill for the link and kind words! Glad you like my shots, your pic of Mike from SEBP far surpasses mine. I couldnt get anything so good 😦

    What do you think of your 50mm? I use one for 90% of live pics, lovely piece of glass it is. Distance can often be a bonus, as in your case here, the angles from your vantage point are brilliant!

  4. Your shots are gorgeous Naomi; thanks a mill to Una for linking you, am delighted I found your blog and your super shots 🙂

    And thanks for the lovely compliments – like it says, this was my first shot at gig photography and I get the feeling it’s a bit addictive…

    Yes, I am completely in love with the 50mm. I had the 1.8 (which friends brought back from Canada) and it lasted 30 days! I kid you not 😦 I knew it would take forever to try and get it returned and fixed, so I forwent clothing/drink/food/chocolate and ordered the 1.4, which is gorgeous. Do you prefer fixed or zoom for gigs?


Leave a Reply

Categories

