Posted by: musiclovesfashion | February 19, 2008

Decisions, decisions…

After much, much deliberating, I have ordered my next prime (fixed focal length) lens.

I was stuck between the 50mm 1.4 (a better-built version of my broken 1.8 nifty fifty) and the 85mm 1.8. Both are said to be great portrait lenses, and Gingerpixel, one of my favourite photobloggers, speaks very highly of the 85mm and has taken beautiful shots with it. They were roughly the same price, which left the decision entirely up to me…

Having 85mm means that there has to be a decent amount of distance between you and your subject – if you’re shooting people you don’t know that well, that can be great. However, if, like me, you spend a lot of time sitting on the couch looking for things to photograph, then you might want the freedom to move a bit closer. Also, I had a tendency to use my nifty fifty as a general purpose lens, and, as much as I do love the 85mm, I’m not sure if it would suit for all those random shots. So I have put that back on the virtual shelf and ordered the 50mm 1.4, which should be here in 4-7 days, wohooo.

In other news, I went out and bought a Sigma 70-300mm f4-5.6 APO on Saturday! It was on sale, and, while I think most of my pennies will be going on primes – they offer better quality glass for my money, and I like the challenge of having to move around to get the pic – I had been on the look out for a cheap zoom. I’ll post some pics later.

This is a really money-hungry hobby, but so rewarding. I have to remind myself of that every time I walk past Urban Outfitters…

Leave a Reply

Categories

