Posted by: musiclovesfashion | January 29, 2008

Circus, circus

Canon 400D 50mm, f1.8, 1/3200, ISO 1600

 

Here are a few shots I took while visiting the show last night (the show is Circus Vegas, an Irish circus that my family run; it’s currently in Swords.)
I would love to get a decent zoom lens and do these performers justice – I used my 50mm prime (fixed focal length lens) wide open (an aperture of 1.8) at a hideous ISO1600 to catch the most light I could, hence the distance and the noise. It’s an amazing place to try and capture though, I barely lowered my camera for the whole show.

The girl above is Mimi, a 24-year old from Bulgaria. She’s also the girl doing the hoola-hoops (see Flickr). The amazing hand-balancing act you see below is a new performer whose name I don’t know yet. The clown is a Mexican guy called Domingo and the two posers are my cousins David and Gordon (also from Mexico), who do a juggling act.

January is an exciting time at the circus – although the show only travels around Ireland, all the performers in it are usually only here on one-year contracts, so every year the old ones leave and new ones arrive, meaning there are lots of new faces and there’s lots of hustle and bustle to try and get the two-hour show down right.

There are a few more pics on Flickr.

Balancing act

 

Domingo, the clown
Canon 400D 50mm, f1.8, 1/3200, ISO 1600

Poser
Canon 400D 50mm, f1.8, 1/125, ISO 800

Another poser
 Canon 400D 50mm, f1.8, 1/320, ISO 800

Responses

  1. Those are great pics! Is the circus coming to Cork? I haven’t been to a circus in ages!

  2. Thanks Donncha!

    Yes, it will make its merry way over to Cork during the year; I’ll let you know whenever I find out.
    It’s photo heaven as well!

  3. […] Headed out Swords way to visit the circus and celebrate my auntie Jackie’s birthday. Because the show only finished at 9.30-9.45pm, we […]

  4. Beautiful circus photo’s…check out mine http://www.billpayne.wordpressicon

  5. Looking for info the the girls Jackie courtney Anita courtney. There stayed a lot in Clontarf where I grew up . We all went to school together during the winter.
    Cn anyone tell me what they are doing now

  6. Nathalie,

    I was at a footie match between Duffy’s and Vegas in a field in Swords last week. I’m recording a radio prog about Irish circus, would love to talk to you as somebody who actually ran away FROM the circus to a 9-5 job! (I’ve spoken to a stack of folk who’ve done the opposite!)

    All best

    Laura

  7. Nathalie, can you tell me where circus vegas is this weekend, 28th june, have kids on a promise

  8. well vegas be coming to balbriggan county dublin
    in 09

  9. Hi Ian,

    They most likely will be but the 09 dates haven’t been finalised yet; check out http://www.circusvegas.ie for updates!

  10. ok that is grand casue i relly would off loven to
    see the show this year but i dident…
    sooo i rellly hope yous come in 09

    and were you’s stay is naul road market site

    and if yous wana book it…
    this is the man who own’s the
    site…0862422877
    if yous wana stay over in balbriggan
    for a few days..

    ian


Leave a Reply

Categories

