Posted by: musiclovesfashion | January 25, 2008

“As you all know, I’m kind of a big deal. This award is a big deal”

Canon 400D 50mm, f2, 1/5000, ISO 1600

 

Quotes from Will Ferrell’s UCD visit:

“James Joyce wrote: I am tomorrow or some future day what I established today. I am today, what I established yesterday, or some previous day… I have no idea what that means.”

“So, as I spent some time relaxing at the very exclusive Carroll’s Irish Gift Store, wondering whether I should purchase some men’s bikini underwear that says ‘Give me a dollar and I’ll show you my hairy shamrocks’ I thought to myself: I love this country, I love everything about it – the people, the stories, the history. I love the taste of Guinness. On the back of your throat. When you keeping burping it up the next morning. I love how cosmopolitan Dublin has become – where you can go order Thai food with three kinds of potatoes. I love sitting in a cosy pub, talking to a local whose accent is so thick it sounds like he’s gargling pleghm. In summation, I will say this: Ireland, you are a part of me. I will always protect you. You are my brothers and sisters. You are in me. In short, Ireland, I want to be on you.”

On Trinity: “The truth of the matter is, those guys are going to be working for you.” (sorry, as a UCD alum I had to get that in there)

Q&A the audience:


Q: Which movie was the most fun?
A: “The one movie that stands out for me – and that’s why it’s been so fun to be here – is Anchorman… It literally took three years to make. We were turned down by ten studios in one day alone. Shocking, but true. When we finally got to make it, a) we couldn’t believe we were actually making it and b) it was so great to have it resonate the way it did. It just seems to have gotten more and more popular as the years have gone on.”

Typed out from what my phone video camera recorded. I have some shorthand notes, which I might post up later if anyone wants to read ’em.

img_6085.jpg

img_6092.jpg

img_6109.jpg

There are a few more pics on Flickr

Responses

  1. Sounds like a hilarious evening!

    Lovely to meet you yesterday.

  2. [trackback] I traveled to Ireland…[trackback]


Leave a Reply

Categories

